Present Perfect and Present Perfect Continuous

D. Complete using the correct present perfect continuous form of the verbs in brackets. Use short forms where possible.

Mandy: Hi Matt. How are you? What have you been doing recently?
Matt: Oh, hi Mandy! Well, I‘ve been studying for my exams.
Mandy: That sounds boring! Have you been working hard?
Matt: Very! Basically, I‘ve just been sitting at my desk in my bedroom for the past three weeks and I haven’t been going out at all. I‘ve been working with Michael, my best friend, some of the time, though, so at least I’ve had some company. How about you?
Mandy: Well, my mum and I‘ve been painting my bedroom for the last few days. That has been fun! And we‘ve also been planning our summer holiday.
Matt: Great! Where are you going? 
Mandy: Well, we haven’t decided yet. We‘ve been looking at different places to see which we like best.
Matt: I’m sure you’ll have a great time, wherever you go. Oh, by the way, I‘ve been thinking of having a party when I finish my exams. Would you like to come?
Mandy: Sure! That would be great!

E. Circle the correct word or phrase.

1. I think I’ve heard/been hearing that song before.
2. They haven’t arrived/been arriving yet, but they should be here soon.
3. You’ve written/been writing that e-mail for over an hour. How long is it going to take you?
4. Have you talked/been talking on the phone since eight o’clock?
5. Jo has already invited/been inviting Shirly to dinner.
6. I’ve read/been reading an interview with Brad Pitt, but I haven’t finished it yet.
7. Have the boys played/been playing computer games since this morning?

F. Complete using the words in the box.

already, ever, for, just, never, since, yet

1. I haven’t listened to their new CD yet. Is it any good?
2. We’ve been waiting for you for over an hour. Where have you been?
3. Have you ever been to the UK before?
4. I’m afraid we’ve already made plans for this weekend, so we won’t be free.
5. Pedro has been having English lessons since he was five years old.
6. It’s strange that you mention the film Crash. I’ve never been reading about it in the paper.
7. I’ve just heard of a ‘sudoku’. What is it?

About sofynahapetyan

Բարև, Ես Սոֆի Նահապետյանն եմ։ Սովորում եմ «Մխիթար Սեբաստացի» կրթահամալիրի Միջին դպրոցում՝ 9-2 դասարանում։ Ազատ ժամանակ նկարչությամբ եմ զբաղվում։ Սիրում եմ դաշնամուր նվագել։
This entry was posted in Անգլերեն. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment